Address609 W. Young St. #2, Llano, TX 78643

AddressBurnet - By Appointment Only


Can a Lawyer Help With Drug Crimes Defense in Texas?

 Posted on March 17, 2024 in Criminal Defense

Marble Falls, TX drug possession defense lawyerDrug possession can carry hefty fines and extended jail time, depending on the type of drug possession charge received. It can be difficult to know what to do in Texas after being arrested for the possession of any kind of controlled substance, but a Texas drug crimes defense attorney can help you navigate your options.

What Are Texas Drug Possession Penalties?

The Texas Health and Safety Code classifies certain types of drugs into penalty groups, with varying fines and incarceration times that depend on the severity and amount of the drug. Generally speaking, the more of the drug that is possessed, the greater the penalty.

Texas drug possession penalties are as follows:

  • Penalty Group 1 includes heroin, cocaine, meth, ketamine, opium, and oxycodone; possession of these drugs is considered a felony. Penalties include a maximum fine of $10,000 and jail time that ranges between 6 months and 99 years.

  • Penalty Group 2 consists of ecstasy, amphetamine, and PCP, among others; possession of drugs in this category is also typically a felony. Fines related to these drugs range up to $10,000, or $50,000 in the case of possession of more than 400 grams, and jail time ranges between 6 months to 2 years up to 99 years.

  • Penalty Group 3 includes benzodiazepines, Ritalin, Valium, and Xanax; charges may be a misdemeanor in small amounts or a felony in large amounts. Fines range between $4,000 and $50,000, and convicts may receive between one and 99 years in jail.

  • Penalty Group 4 consists of any opiate or opioid that does not fall into the first three penalty groups. Less than 28 grams in possession is a misdemeanor, while more than 28 grams is a felony. Penalties include fines that range from $2,000 to $50,000 and jail time that ranges from 6 months to 99 years.

Texas treats marijuana possession as a separate category. Penalties for marijuana possession of less than two ounces include a fine of up to $2,000 and 180 days in jail, while possession of more than five pounds of marijuana can result in felony charges, fines up to $10,000, and up to 2 years in jail.

How Can a Texas Drug Defense Lawyer Help Me?

If you have been arrested for a drug possession charge in Texas, a Texas drug defense lawyer is your most valuable asset. Drug defense lawyers do more than help you navigate the charges against you, they can help you understand your rights, investigate evidence from your drug charges, and advocate for you in court.

With the help of a seasoned Texas drug defense attorney, the best outcome of your case can be pursued and you can potentially reduce the burden on your future in terms of costly fines and court fees, charges on your record, jail time, and lost wages and unemployment.

Contact a Marble Falls, TX Drug Defense Attorney

When it comes to facing drug possession charges in Texas, the skilled assistance of a Llano County, TX drug defense lawyer is necessary. Attorney Russ Baker is highly experienced with drug defense cases, and his background and Bachelor of Science degree in Biology uniquely qualify him to handle drug possession cases that involve scientific evidence.

Contact Law Office of Russ Alan Baker, PLLC by calling 325-216-2006 for a consultation about your legal defense options.

Share this post:
Back to Top