Address609 W. Young St. #2, Llano, TX 78643

AddressBurnet - By Appointment Only

Free Consultations

325-216-2006

How Can I Get My Texas Driver’s License Back After a DWI Conviction?

Posted on in Criminal Defense

llano-county-dui-lawyer.jpgGetting convicted of the crime of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Texas can have a major detrimental impact on many areas of your life. While people are encouraged to take their punishment and then get back to living as productive members of society, DWI convictions can make that particularly difficult because living without a driver’s license makes it nearly impossible to do basic activities. Getting to work, grocery shopping, and taking your kids to school are all very difficult without a driver’s license. 

Fortunately, an experienced criminal defense attorney can defend you from DWI charges and, if you lose your license, help you get it back. Here are two common questions about getting a driver’s license reinstated in Texas. 

How Long Do I Have to Wait Before Getting my Driver’s License Back? 

DWI convictions are not all the same. A DWI for an adult under 21 years old may result in just a 90-day suspension, but an adult convicted of repeated DWIs or a DWI that caused an injury or death can result in suspensions up to two years. You will have to attend a hearing in which a judge will determine how long your suspension will be. Keep in mind that your driver’s license may be suspended even if you are not convicted of a DWI; license suspension hearings are civil procedures and can continue even if there is no DWI criminal conviction. An attorney can help you present evidence and arguments to try to shorten or eliminate your license suspension. 

What Do I Need to Do Before I Get My License Back? 

Once your license is suspended, you will be notified of certain measures you must take that are intended to punish or rehabilitate you before you can get your license back. These can include fines, reinstatement fees, and proof of completed alcohol or drug education programs. You will need to submit paperwork showing you have taken these measures before your license reinstatement application can be reviewed; your license will not automatically be returned to you once the suspension period is over. 

The specific paperwork you need, and the fines you will have to pay, change on a case-by-case basis. While you are not required to have an attorney help you with this process, doing so can eliminate errors and ensure your file is processed accurately. 

Meet with a Llano County Driver’s License Reinstatement Lawyer

Getting back your driver’s license is an important first step to getting back on the road to normal life following a DWI conviction. If you lost your driver’s license and want help getting your driving privileges back, meet with the Llano County driver’s license reinstatement attorney at Law Office of Russ Alan Baker, PLLC. We are here to protect your rights and privileges when you need us most. Call us now at 325-216-2006

Source: 

https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/driver-license/alcohol-related-offenses

 

Back to Top