Address609 W. Young St. #2, Llano, TX 78643

AddressBurnet - By Appointment Only


What Are the Penalties for Domestic Violence in Texas?

 Posted on May 31, 2024 in Criminal Defense

Llano family defense lawyerDomestic violence in Texas is referred to as "family violence." Charges for family violence can range from misdemeanors to felonies, with the state taking family violence allegations seriously. If you are arrested on a family violence charge, you must understand the charges against you and any associated penalties.

You should also contact a skilled Texas family violence defense attorney to protect your rights and minimize the effects of a family violence charge on your record as much as possible.

What Is Family Violence?

Texas Family Code defines family violence as the act of a family member or a household member against another family or household member that aims to inflict physical harm or bodily injury.

Family and household members can include married and unmarried couples, ex-spouses, children and stepchildren, parents with a shared child, couples who are currently or were formerly dating, and any individual who shares a home with another.

Assault or sexual assault between family or household members is considered family violence, as are threats of physical harm, bodily injury, assault, or sexual assault. Additionally, abuse towards the child of a family or household member is a type of family violence.

Texas Family Violence Penalties

There are three main types of family violence charges in Texas, and they range in severity. These types of family violence charges include:

  • Domestic assault
  • Aggravated assault
  • Continuous violence

Domestic assault is the most common family violence charge, and it is typically a Class A misdemeanor. This charge carries penalties of up to a year of jail time and a fine of up to $4,000. If the person charged with domestic assault has a previous offense, this charge is upgraded to a felony.

Aggravated assault occurs when domestic assault is committed, a deadly weapon like a gun or knife is used, or serious bodily injury occurs. Aggravated assault is considered either a first or second-degree felony, depending on the circumstances surrounding the charge. This carries penalties of two to 20 years in prison, up to life in prison, and fines of up to $10,000.

Continuous violence is when a person has more than two family violence charges within 12 months, and it is classified as a third-degree felony. This felony charge carries a prison sentence of between two and ten years and a fine of up to $10,000.

Contact a Llano, TX Family Violence Defense Lawyer

Family violence charges can affect your future, and if you find yourself facing this type of charge, it is important to reach out to a Llano County, TX family violence defense attorney right away. The experience of a criminal defense lawyer on your side can help you navigate the complex Texas legal system and advocate for your rights.

Attorney Russ Baker's significant criminal defense experience and biology background make him uniquely qualified to handle cases involving scientific evidence. Call Law Office of Russ Alan Baker, PLLC at 325-216-2006 for a consultation.

Share this post:
Back to Top